The Power of YOUR Feet: Piezoelectricity and Conquering Water


What could you do with your feet? Walking? Yes. Running? Yes. So, do you know that you could even make environmental friendly electricity with your feet? Forget about those old techniques when you have to cycle a weird bicycle to generate electricity for a lamp. Now, you could produce electricity by simply stepping on them!

Meet the era of Piezoelectricity! While human population keeps increasing, these piezoelectric materials could convert the mechanical stress from your step into something useful: a source of real power. Imagine if lots of crowded walking paths like streets at Hong Kong could implement this technology. We could be a kind of walking power plants!

Nope, not only that. With your feet, you could also conquer the water. Itโ€™s not like those ordinary running sports; itโ€™s the art of walking on the water! Iโ€™m not talking about the impossible mission but there are several people who have tried this unique sport for their own lifestyle. Meet the water walkers.

As you see, we could always do more with our feet. We could be the savior of the world by simply doing the green habit and green sports. How about a try?

31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by pak001man on May 30, 2010 at 6:17 am

    I actually find this really amazing. 2 or 3 steps are really a lot but they made over 15 steps in some of their attempts. Probably there was much more exercise before creating this video and you really have to give all in and actually love it but after all I think it is really amazing what this guys did. I am still wondering how they do it, really cool, I am not a big swimmer so I can’t really try it out in big water, maybe at the pool someday.

    Reply

    • Yeah, I think it’s cool too.. At first I think they could just do around 3 steps but near the end I realized that they could even travel far with that technique! Yeah, lots of exercises I think.. But on the other hand if we try it at pool maybe lots of people will stare to us, because it might be a little bit odd, eh? LOL. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for your comment. Your blog has awesome stuffs too!

      Reply

      • Posted by K-ja on June 3, 2010 at 1:01 am

        I think that it’s interesting too. I’m curious how much time it takes to learn to walk on water :). Meybe I’ll try when I’ll go on vacation ;).
        Do you know that some species of worms have Hydrophobic legs that allows them to walk on water? It’s just fantastic :D.

  2. Posted by LMathews on June 3, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Wow! I never thought some ordinary people could ever walk on water except those professional magicians and Jesus’ disciples, Peter. I find this article and video very interesting. I love it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rakib on June 3, 2010 at 12:35 am

    The article is very essential for me. Thanks for posting. I agree with you.

    Reply

  4. Posted by karthik on June 3, 2010 at 12:41 am

    wow nice way has been mentioned in this article which has some nice information provided in the article which i love to know some of the better information provided in the article is great.I really like this article which has some great source of information

    Reply

  5. Posted by sumo on June 3, 2010 at 12:44 am

    i think it is helped to reduce the effect of global warming by reducing the use of fuel.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mazhar on June 3, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I couldn’t understand….sorry

    Reply

  7. Posted by mahfuz on June 3, 2010 at 12:48 am

    this article is about The Power of YOUR Feet: Piezoelectricity and Conquering Water which is very useful for me. thanks

    Reply

  8. I use my feet to run, walk, and as a proponent of my body to go to all the places I wanted to. In addition, feet is also tool of our body that supports us to become more attractive appearance or a more gallant. I love my feet.

    Reply

  9. Posted by deb on June 3, 2010 at 12:59 am

    oh! what a comment “We could be a kind of walking power plants”!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Anarul on June 3, 2010 at 1:07 am

    your blog is so good, i like it. your blog is cool like water walker. thanks.

    Reply

  11. it’s am amazing thing, indeed. i know walking of water, but it’s actually on some substance that is liquid and you have to do it fast, otherwise you sink. basically if you run, you can run as many steps as you want. tho, a few steps on water is quite impressing. guess you need a pool in your backyard to exercise, hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  12. I never thought our feet can produce electricity. Nicely written article. Thanks.

    Reply

  13. Posted by adoula on June 3, 2010 at 1:25 am

    really it’s vert intersting informations , i will use these things about the power of feet in an exam about this…thank you very much for you help

    Reply

  14. Posted by matal on June 3, 2010 at 1:25 am

    wow.it’s amazing that you could do so much and contribute to the mass simply using your feet. i am definitely gonna try and utilize my walking habit to something like this.

    Reply

  15. wow incredible ๐Ÿ˜ฎ … i can believe what already saw :O:O:O i will try this too ๐Ÿ˜€ … 15 steps? … i must learn this expert tehnique and try to do this … theee summer is coming … i must try it too! good article. you are great!

    Reply

  16. Posted by turnab on June 3, 2010 at 2:19 am

    very informative post. I think writer is well educated.

    Reply

  17. Ya I’ve heard about this before, Probably in a world Convention this idea was applied first. Although never seen any picture. Thanks I can see it here. This is a great Idea as because many of us wont just notice that they are making electricity! this can add up to the main Grid but the question comes is it a economically feasible Idea of just a laboratory thing?

    Reply

    • Yeah, this is also a great point. As you see, the technology might become useless (once again) if it couldn’t be implemented for mass usage. We will hear more about this in a short time I guess. Thanks for your great comment.

      Reply

  18. I find this really amazing.i love water.i m a good swimmer.i can try it in my house.really its a great post.i like it

    Reply

  19. Actually I find great interest by seeing this. So I hope will post another article at future. Thank you for this post

    Reply

  20. Posted by Avy on June 3, 2010 at 3:19 am

    I tried to go and water the boys in video but no chance, I could not

    Reply

  21. piezoelectric effect is a wonderful phenomena and is very well exploited here

    Reply

  22. Posted by james on June 3, 2010 at 7:39 am

    We should keep our world green and make green world for the next generation. This is excellent idea to walk. Hope more article about this topics.

    Reply

  23. Posted by fadli on June 3, 2010 at 7:45 am

    The piezoelectric effect is reversible in that materials exhibiting the direct piezoelectric effect (the production of an electric potential when stress

    Reply

  24. Posted by kamranggt on June 3, 2010 at 7:59 am

    This is really amazing article. Well, at first I think they could just do around 3 steps but near the end I realized that they could even travel far with that technique! Yeah, lots of exercises I think.

    Reply

  25. I think we alwaya have power in our body, specially our feed. Travel is great hobby and great power from our feed

    Reply

  26. Posted by carljsp on June 3, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    At first I think they could just do around 3 steps but near the end I realized that they could even travel far with that technique! Yeah, lots of exercises I think.. But on the other hand if we try it at pool maybe lots of people will stare to us, because it might be a little bit odd, eh? LOL.

    Reply

  27. […] you see, it’s actually about a post I made around 5 days ago: The Power of YOUR Feet: Piezoelectricity and Conquering Water. I don’t really know how WordPress could rate me as a featured blog (I don’t even […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

